Mega Man 4 & 5

Well…since near enough every game in the NES series is the same, Mega Man 4, known in Japan as Rockman 4 Aratanaru Yabō!! (ロックマン4 新たなる野望!! Rokkuman Fō Aratanaru Yabō!!, “Rockman 4: A New Ambition!!”), developed and published by Capcom and published by Nintendo in Europe and was released in 1991 in Japan, 1992 in the US and in 1993 in Europe.

Mega Man 4 (USA) (Rev A)0000.png
And here we have the Mega Man helmet, we start at £420,000!

So for some reason, after three whole games, they finally give out the backstory of how Mega Man came to be. Anyway, Russian scientist named Dr. Cossack claims to be world’s greatest scientist in world, better than puny Dr. Light. He will unleash many strong robots and declare war against puny Mega Man…Sorry, I drunk vodka and now I somehow spoke Russian…and there goes my Russian audience, if my YouTube trailer doesn’t get me killed.

Mega Man 4 (USA) (Rev A)0012.png
Let’s tip the scales!

Well…it’s Mega Man, it has the same gameplay, you still battle eight robot masters and gain their weapons…err…Ooh, you get the Mega Buster, when you hold the fire button, you charge up a powerful shot. So…err…Rush is back and…still does the exact same thing…err…you still have the slide maneuver…but there’s “Flip Top” Eddie who appears from time to time to give you a random item, some you might need, some you won’t, compulsive lottery I say.

Mega Man 4 (USA) (Rev A)0001.png
The Unusual Suspects

Let’s talk about the robot masters, we have Toad Man, Bright Man, Pharaoh Man, Ring Man, Dust Man, Skull Man, Dive Man, and Drill Man. Toad Man (who is pathetically easy to beat with your measly arm cannon) and his Rain Flush can stun or kill enemies on the screen, it can be useful for the odd annoying enemy or two. Bright Man’s Flash Stopper can freeze some enemies and allow you to shoot down enemies with ease, it’s also useful against Pharaoh Man and…hands up if you crotch-shotted him to death. Pharaoh Man’s Pharaoh Shot allows you to shoot a fireball, charge it up and it becomes powerful. Ring Man’s Ring Boomerang lets you throw rings but the range sucks. Dust Man’s Dust Crusher is stronger than your cannon and can split. Skull Man’s Skull Barrier is the Leaf Shield from Mega Man 2…it protects you. Dive Missile, it’s a homing missile and the best weapon in the game. Finally, Drill Man’s Drill Bomb, which fires an exploding drill…I’m so sorry Dr. Cossack, but your weapons are kind of crap, your experiments need more vodka.

Mega Man 4 (USA) (Rev A)0014.png
Only in Russia will you have a castle fit for a…scientist?

The graphics are some of the best in the series so far, there’s a rotating Mega Man image whenever you collect a new weapon and it looks awesome. The level design is good apart from the tons of spikes and bottomless pits because it’s Mega Man and Mega Man needs to have some difficulty, but what else do you expect from Mega Man. The music is OK but not one of my favourites.

Mega Man 4 (USA) (Rev A)0019.png
Daughter, I forbid you to marry robot, all he does is jump around place.

Overall, it’s…OK, it does nothing entirely new, I’m disappointed. What else can I say about this game but, it’s…good. So how many words? About 490 words? 493! Not enough, so here’s Mega Man 5…499? I’ve lost count.

Before I go to Mega Man 5, it’s time for cover art time:

Mmbox4.png
This is the US cover and yet again, that face looks silly…I wonder what Europe is going to…
nintendo-nes-megaman4.jpg
There we go, so much better.

NON-EXISTANT SEGWAY!

megaman5-jp.jpg

Mega Man 5, known as Rockman 5 Blues no Wana!? (ロックマン5 ブルースの罠!? “Rockman 5 Blues’ Trap!?”), developed and published by Capcom and published by Nintendo in Europe and was released in 1992 in Japan and in the US and in 1993 in Europe.

Mega Man 5 (USA)0000.png
For God’s sake, the title screen is not supposed to be a rubbish tip!

So Proto Man, Mega Man’s brother, has unleashed another bunch of robot masters to take over the world…I guess. To make matters worse, he also kidnaps Dr. Light and it’s up to Mega Man to do what he always does.

Mega Man 5 (USA)0010.png
More unusual suspects.

Our robot masters for today include Star Man, Gravity Man, Gyro Man, Crystal Man, Napalm Man, Wave Man, Stone Man and Charge Man. Uuh…oh dear, it seems that I completely forgot what the weapons did, though I know that they’re near enough similar to Mega Man 4’s set of weapons…that’s not a good thing. Anyway, Mega Man’s Mega Buster charge has now been improved with a bigger blast and is now more powerful to the point where I always use it, though why the charge stops when I get hit is one I’ll always ponder as it’s annoying at times. I say this because this never happened in Mega Man 4.

Mega Man 5 (USA)0001.png
Hadoken Cannon!

Other than that, there’s barely anything new or interesting to talk about. I mean sure, there’s Gravity Man’s stage and it’s gravitation mechanics and Wave Man’s stage allows you to ride a Water Craft and battle a robot Octopus. If you collect letters and spell out MEGA MAN V, you unlock Beat who can help you defeat some enemies on screen, a present given to you by Dr. Cossack as an apology from the fourth game, though I would also like a gold skin on my bird ya git. But other than that, there’s nothing new.

Mega Man 5 (USA)0019.png
Help Mega Man and NUKE THE DOLPHINS!

I’m sorry, but Mega Man 5 sucks, I didn’t have any fun with this one and the whole thing has just gone vanilla. Everything you seen in previous Mega Man games have been butchered in some way but I don’t know why. I don’t like the levels, I hate the robot masters and their designs, I hate the music and the difficulty is spiky at worse.

Mega Man 5 (USA)0021.png
I have a joke, I don’t have time, but when I do, I’ll make it.

Overall, Mega Man 5 is my least favourite game in the series and a game I probably won’t play again…maybe. And for goodness sake I haven’t even played Mega Man 6, the final game for the NES. See you next week.

You can get these games on the NES/Famicom, PlayStation, PlayStation 2, Nintendo GameCube, Xbox, Mobile Phone, PlayStation Network and Virtual Console for Wii U and 3DS.

And once again, it’s time to look at the cover art:

Mmbox5.png
This is the US cover and…wow, this really is serviceable, the face doesn’t look too bad this time.
megaman5-eu.jpg
But the European cover is once again much better in terms of the face, but the US one is still an improvement.

paypal-donate-button

2 thoughts on “Mega Man 4 & 5

    1. I notice the washing up of the PAL covers, but in terms of design on Mega Man, he’s close to his original Japanese art style in terms of his face. I’m still wondering how the artist managed to swap faces.

Leave a Reply

