Mini-Review: Strider 2 (PlayStation)

THIS IS THE PLAYSTATION GAME, NOT THE MEGA DRIVE VERSION, I REPEAT, THIS IS THE PLAYSTATION GAME, FORGET THE MEGA DRIVE VERSION, IT DOESN’T EXIST ACCORDING TO CAPCOM, WHICH I THINK IT’S FOR THE BEST.

So, in order to play this, I had to get an import copy of the new Strider game for the PS3. When I got it, there was a code to get Strider 1 & 2. Thankfully, I had a Japanese PSN account and the code actually worked. But that also meant that I have the Japanese version of Strider 2 so I wont’ be able to understand the story but hey, I can at least play the game. I mean I could have gotten a physical copy but it’s highly expensive. It was released on the PlayStation store but not in Europe, only in the US and Japan.

37629-Strider_2_[NTSC-U]-6.jpg
Knights battle dragons. Striders battle a robotic King Ghidora.
So the main villain Grandmaster has returned to take over the world, so Strider Hiryu has to defeat him again. The gameplay has the elements of classic Strider but it’s much more refined, Strider feels more agile, he controls so well, making for a fantastic experience. Though…the graphics are not the best depending on which TV you’re playing it on. You see, there are 2D characters in a 3D world, when you see this on a standard definition TV, it blends perfectly, but see it on a HD TV or on your PSP/Vita, it sticks out like a sore thumb.

Also, it’s short and you have unlimited continues, this may be a problem for some who want to be challenged by it, but for me, I don’t care, I have stuff to do and it’s perfect for me, though I do wish it was a little bit longer, but this is an Arcade port after all…using the PlayStation hardware. Strider 2 improves upon the original, but it’s very short and I wish this have been a fully fleshed out game, only then would we have the ultimate Strider experience. Well, hopefully we have the new Strider game to fill that void…maybe.

Leave a Reply

