Random Game Pickups – January 2017

A new year, new pickups…though I didn’t get much, but what I managed to pick up was pretty sweet.

IMG_20170108_142037704.jpg

Vampire Resurrection (Darkstalkers Resurrection) – Well done Capcom! It’s nice that you deny the West a physical copy of this compilation, then I have to figure out what the Japanese menus are translated to. A good thing I already downloaded the English version, so this copy is just a means of double-dipping. I got it for £17.60 on eBay.

IMG_20170113_150600392.jpg

Japanese Nintendo 64 (with NTSC-J copy of Yoshi’s Story) – I NEED MY SMASH BROS. AND I WANT IT FOR A CHEAP PRICE! Welp, with a UK N64 plug it works fine. I also got a tester game, which is Yoshi’s Story (I made a mini-review of it so stay updated). I got the console for £17.99 + £3.90 P+P. I got Yoshi’s Story for £5.45.

IMG_20170127_102521804.jpg

Kirby 64: The Crystal Shards (Japanese Version) – The PAL version is very expensive, so import I go. It’s my second imported Nintendo 64 title I bought and this is one where you don’t need ANY experience of the Japanese language because the story is told through cutscenes and no text so I can play this with no issues. I first played this game on an emulator and found it meh. Testing it with a real console and knowing how the game works, it’s much better than I thought it would be, but more on it when I do a full review of it. I got it on eBay for £4.77.

I went to Milton Keynes and got a good chunk of games, and all came from CeX:

IMG_20170129_170428386.jpg

Maximo – Let’s make an action-adventure game that looks cool and everyone will play it…wait what, the game is a spin-off of Ghosts ‘n Goblins in terms of look and difficulty…we’ll leave it out of the marketing. I once had this as a child but sold it because it was difficult and unintresting to me, but I got it again…time to have another go. I got it for £2.50.

IMG_20170129_170449254.jpg

Samurai Warriors 2 – Another month, another Dynasty Warriors game. Only this is a spin-off to the main series that is not a licensed game…Samurai! And once again, I found the sequel before I found the first bloody game, first Gundam, now Samurai. Welp, it’s here when I need it. I got it for £1.50.

IMG_20170129_170507382.jpg

Jak X – Ratchet and Clank had a spin-off on the PS2, so does Jak and Daxter…and it’s a racing game. Oh, I almost forgot of an issue the game has when it comes to saving, as if you let it autosave, it will save constantly to the point where it will corrupt your memory card. There is a solution but I’ll explain it whenever I review the game. I got it for £1.50.

IMG_20170129_170539821.jpg

Ninja Assault – Hey, let’s once again butcher the concept of a ninja and make them use guns. WHAT THE F*** IS STEALTH? I really need a G-Con gun to get the best experience. I got it for £1.

IMG_20170129_170550704.jpg

SpyHunter: Nowhere to Run – IF YOU SMELL, WHAT THE ROCK, IS COOKING? An unnecessary sequel to an unnecessary reboot, based off a classic Arcade game that has stood the test of time. But it has The Rock! I got it for 50p.

IMG_20170129_170601446.jpg

Project Eden – I don’t know what to write for it, it was 50p.

IMG_20170129_170618051.jpg

Namco Museum Remix – And yet I have another Namco Museum compilation in my collection. To be honest, I only bought it because Galplus is included, since I want to review the Galaga series, a Galaga Retrospective, but it has other Namco games I already have tenfolds. I got it for £5.

IMG_20170129_170632978.jpg

SNK Arcade Classics: Vol. 1 – The most expensive compilation game I bought, with 16 SNK titles ready to be played. I had to buy the Wii version because the technical stuff of this port is much better than the PS2 and PSP port. I’m also a sucker for retro compilation games, preservation is the key and the future of video gaming. I got it for £15.

IMG_20170130_133840907_HDR.jpg

Looney Tunes: Road Runner
This game: Hey, Sonic, can I copy your Homework?
Sonic: Yeah, just change it up a bit so it doesn’t look obvious you copied.
This game: OK
And the moral of the story is…you really should have copied a bit more off Sonic…then again, this was the dark ages of Sunsoft.
I got it for £6.

IMG_20170130_142047814.jpg

Super Monkey Ball Deluxe – I could have gotten Super Monkey Ball 1 & 2 for the Nintendo GameCube for a good chunk of cash…or, buy an Xbox port where it has all the levels from both the games as well as new levels exclusive to Deluxe. I got it for £2.50.

Leave a Reply

