Every Gamer’s Advent Calendar! Day 5

It’s Day Five and it’s finally a modern game…if you still consider 2007 modern…yeah, it is. So what game am I talking about?

header.jpg

Team Fortress 2 (Before the Meet your Match update)

NOTICE: This is a game I’ve already reviewed, though it is a review from 2015 so it may not be as good as it could be nowadays, but feel free to take a look.

A time when Alien: Colonial Marines just weaned me off first-person shooters, it took Team Fortress 2 to save the day. You had characters with different skills, weapons and shockingly, personality. You can play as all of them and find your favourite. There are nine mercenaries to choose from, and I like a lot of them for who they are and how they play. It doesn’t matter which character you pick, they’re all easy to control and simple to play, but mastering it is the challenge and being good at your favourable character is always rewarding. The game also has a great sense of humour, especially the videos that introduced the mercenaries back in the day, as well as the game’s backstory.

Each mercenary has a ton of weapons, each with different stats; everyone is going to have their favourite weapons for each mercenary.

Now I said that this is my favourite game before a certain update called Meet your Match. Because after that…WHAT THE F*** HAPPENED? COMPETITVE MODE SHAT THE BED AND WAS BROKEN! BEING ABLE TO QUICK-JOIN A GAME IS GONE! DIFFERENT SETTINGS TO GO TO COMMUNITY MAPS ARE GONE! THERE’S NO INSENTIVE IN PLAYING CASUAL MODE! GETTING XP IS JUST POINTLESS! Valve wanted to compete with Overwatch so did things that worked for that game and put it into Team Fortress 2…and failed miserably. It’s just ruined for me and ever since the update; I’ve never played the game since.

I don’t know if I could recommend it since it’s still being updated, but what we have now is disappointing. So…I don’t know. Do I think Team Fortress 2 is dead? To me, it’s in a coma after a car crash and Ketamine-fuelled…it may get better…maybe.

See you tomorrow I guess.

Leave a Reply

