Random Game Pickups – October 2016

Hey, I’m back again with another set of game pickups I got in October. And oh boy, it’s the scariest time of the year. Review-wise, I’ve reviewed the first four Metroid games, Luigi’s Mansion and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. By the way, there won’t be any more title cards until my drawings are of better quality.

Anyway, considering it’s October, it was the month of Halloween, and I’m going to start off with the scariest game I brought in October. This game is from a terrifying series and has remained a classic since…

IMAG0389.jpg

Kirby’s Epic Yarn – …that is, if you find a pink fluffy ball of cuteness who eats enemies alive and trapping them in an empty and lonely void terrifying, because that may be me. This is the game that everyone laughed and continues to laugh at for being and looking too child-friendly, for being a baby’s game. Because of course, it’s not like the demographic for the Kirby series was, I don’t know…children. I got it in CeX for £10.

IMAG0392.jpg

Ultra Street Fighter IV – So Street Fighter V came out this year and…hey, how about that King of Fighters XIV eh? OR the previous game with all the DLC and other additional content because I’m cheap that way. I got it for £10 in ASDA…well that was unexpected.

The next three games I got at GAME.

IMAG0384.jpg

Dynasty Warriors Gundam – Several months ago, I brought Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 for the PS3, since then, I got Dynasty Warriors 2 for the PS2 and I managed to get the first game in the Dynasty Warriors Gundam series so whatever I thought about Dynasty Warriors Gundam 2 is the same here. I got it for £4.99.

IMAG0385.jpg

Onechanbara: Bikini Samurai Squad – ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°). I got it for £4.99.

IMAG0383.jpg

Dead or Alive Xtreme 2 – I got this for £3.99 and I’ll refer you to my first ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°).

The next three games I got came from CeX.

IMAG0387.jpg

Tao Feng – Fist of the Lotus – Urm…I played a demo of it on another game so I got the full game, but this was pocket change. Anyway, some blokes who worked on the Mortal Kombat games worked on this yet it has a rating of 15? Doesn’t bode well. I got it for 75p.

IMAG0386.jpg

WET – So…why do I keep buying random games I may or may not play? I can never have too many games…as I look around my room…sigh. I got it for £1.

IMAG0388.jpg

Earth Defense Force 2025 – So I previously got Earth Defense Force 2017, so here’s the next game I guess. I got it for £8. Wait, what’s Earth Defense Force 4.1: The Shadow of New Despair? It’s a remastered version for this game on the PS4? What, it has extra content included? SON OF A B…

IMAG0395.jpg

Super Dragon Ball Z – It’s been a while since I got a Dragon Ball game, and this one I’ve been trying to collect for a while since it’s the more arcadey fighter. Speaking of which, this was prodcued by Noritaka Funamizu, who produced Street Fighter II, so this should be of great quality. I got it for £3.50.

IMAG0394.jpg

Samurai Shodown Sen – It’s an SNK game, and it’s Samurai Shodown…and it’s in 3D. What? I got it for £2.50.

IMAG0398.jpg

Quackshot Starring Donald Duck – OH S***, Donald packing heat. But in all seriousness, it’s a Disney game for the Sega Mega Drive, so the quality is going to be good (yes, I know all about Fantasia). Though you may notice that this is the US version as it says Sega Genesis but it works on a PAL Mega Drive so I’m not complaining. I got it on eBay for 99p + £1.27 P+P.

I went to Cash Converters in Dunstable and I got these games.

IMAG0401.jpg

Sonic Unleashed (Wii) – I have this game on Xbox 360 and even played it…I’m not spending countless hours finding some damn tokens so the Wii version we go and this was a game I payed £12 for many years ago and sold it because I never liked it, but now I have it again and I’m keeping it. I got it for £3.99.

IMAG0402.jpg

Pure (Disc only) – This was something I just spotted and it was super cheap at just 30p.

IMAG0403.jpg

Namco Museum Vol. 1 (US Copy) – Yep, you’re seeing this, I found a US PS1 game in a UK store…well a second hand store but eh. But I have a GameBlaster so I should have no issue playing this. I got it for £1 and I’m surprised since on eBay, it’s quite pricey, especially when trying to get the US version, add to the fact that the PAL version is about £20 at most.

IMAG0404.jpg

Professor Layton and the Curious Village – Nice one! It’s the first game in the Professor Layton series. Now to have a brain and figure out all the puzzles without resorting to the Internet. I got it for £3.

IMAG0405.jpg

Fallout 3: Game of the Year Edition – This was a game I had on the PS3 before I sold it because it KEPT ON BLOODY CRASHING, for God’s sake Bethesda, cut it out! But I decided to get it again, this time on a port that’s considered stable, like the Xbox 360’s port of Oblivion and experienced one crash throughout my majority of my playtime. I know a bit about the game from my very short playthrough but I want to play it some more. And for those who may be asking if I’ll play and review Fallout 1, 2, Tactics and Brotherhood of Steel…I don’t know, if I review Fallout 3 first, that’s that, but it doesn’t mean I’ll avoid the previous games, they’ll just be done another day, but I feel it will be a long time.

By the way, I got this at GAME and as well as a receipt, I also got this piece of paper next to the game shown on the picture above, and the paper welcomes me to the Fallout 4 Club. I mean, that was just fitting, I didn’t expect that.

IMAG0411.jpg

One Piece: Pirate Warriors Treasure Edition – I’m sure a lot of you are quite surprised to see this version of this game. I’ve tried to get into One Piece but it’s a bit too much story, I don’t know where to start (I know at the beginning obviously). But this is another Dynasty Warriors game but with One Piece characters. But when it comes to this game, what do you get in this Treasure Edition? As well as getting the full game, you get 11 PSN themes, 10 costumes for the characters and 10 more scenarios. And since this is pre-owned game, getting this version was very risky as the additional features aren’t on a disc, but on a code in a leaflet, I hate that crap. Thankfully though, the code was unused and I got the additional content, ready to use whenever I get to play it. Hooray! I got it for £8 at CeX.

IMAG0412.jpg

The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker HD – Horray! I finally got the Wii U version of Wind Waker. I have the GameCube original too, but this has cleaner graphics and some improvements from the original. I’m playing it at the moment and I’m really enjoying it, just like the time when I did play it as a child. So the Second Zelda Month is now on schedule for February 2017. I got it on eBay for £14.99 and £1.27 P+P.

Leave a Reply

