The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

239084_xbx_b.png

The Elder Scrolls series is very, very expansive, from the story to the characters and its lore and gameplay. The series is a First-Person RPG set in a Fantasy/Medieval world where something, something, something, you’re the chosen one for something, something, something, battle monsters and dragons. This series is not for the kinaesthetic gamer as the series asks a lot from you, but the rewards are fantastic the more you play, just as a good RPG should do. So, where would I start? I was going to start with The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim – Legendary Edition, but it’s still a bit pricey at the moment. I could start with The Elder Scrolls: Arena but it’s confusing to play along with the weird graphics and it’s also on PC. I could have also played The Elder Scrolls II: Daggerfall but that’s also on PC. But there’s also The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of the Year Edition for Xbox but it’s also expensive, so the next best thing is number four, The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition, developed by Bethesda Game Studios and published by 2K Games for PC and Xbox 360 and was also published by Bethesda Softworks and Ubisoft for the PS3.

maxresdefault.jpg

You play as a silent create-a-character; mine was a black lady, just bringing ghetto to the world of Oblivion. You start off with absolutely nothing and in a prison cell where the Emperor and his guards go into your cell to escape the prison and the city. Later, some guards die and the Emperor dies but before he does, he gives you The Amulet of Kings to give to his heir Martin Septim. Oh, and there’s Oblivions, portals all over the place for you to close from the demons.

1.jpg

So how would I talk about this kind of game? Well how about my experience. Well I did the story missions which are pretty good and overtime I collected weapons and armour to protect myself when battling enemies. I also have spells though I only use Flare (this version’s small Kamehameha) and healing powers, this drains my Magicka. When I’m not doing the main missions I go to caves to explore the dark crevices, luckily I bring some Torches to guide me along the way. The enemies will be either a cakewalk or a long battle but I continue victorious. I also find some items in barrels, crates and chests, most containing items I need like food, potions, etc.

3.jpg

There are also the Oblivion portals which have to be closed to restore peace to the world. Oblivion is pretty much Hell full of goblins shooting fireballs, but you can also get material exclusive to this demonic world. So when you get there, defeat everything and remove the stones from each world of the Oblivions to seal each portal. Oh, and the game crashed…once…not too bad. I mean ages ago I played the PS3 port and the amount of times that port crashed on me is the reason why I sold it after a week of annoyance. And that’s why I have the Xbox 360 port.

I know I this description is only the scrapings of what you can do but Oblivion is a huge game. The gameplay is something to get used to due to having menus, a button for attacks, one button for spell-casting, one button to switch from first-person to third-person and vice versa, there’s a lot to work with but once you know everything works it’s great to control, though if you have the PC port I’m sure you’ll have the keyboard and mouse and the greatest PC known to mankind because people love to be the dominance of something whilst stomping on those less fortunate to have a PC as godly as you because that doesn’t make you a jerk at all. 🙂

maxresdefault1.jpg

The NPCs are just very lame. I just can’t get invested in anyone, probably because some have the same voices as other characters, or the fact that they have a lot to say that go through my head. Yeah, the story is very in-depth, if you like Fantasy novels, especially The Lord of the Rings, you’ll love this, but for those who like their stories simple, this isn’t for you but if you came for the gameplay, you’ll get your money’s worth. It’s not that there’s too much story, it’s just that there really are so many stories in this game that I can’t take in all that information, if only the stories we’re woven back to front to make it memorable. But what do I know.

00016081-540x300.jpeg

The graphics are OK, in fact, they were state-of-the-art back in the day, but they haven’t aged too well even by today’s standards. The problem is that this is a Bethesda game and a Bethesda game is NEVER perfect, there are bugs, glitches and a crash, though most of them don’t break the game so you got lucky that I played this game when the updates fixed some of the issues before I got to play it.

Overall, Oblivion isn’t for me story-wise, overblown and far too detailed for me, it’s a story that will be suitable for people who either like long lore or are fans of The Elder Scrolls series. Gameplay-wise however it’s a lot of fun, the moment I get my gear ready for battle and exploration, I instantly get immersed into the game; I’m always satisfied when in battle or exploring caves. Heck, even the main missions are great. I recommend it to everyone as long as you prefer and enjoy the story or the gameplay. With that said I still look forward to playing Skyrim when I can get a copy of the Legendary Edition…and I’ll make sure it’s an Xbox 360 port.

You can get this on PC, Mobile phone, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360.

Rating: 4/5

4 thoughts on “The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

  1. I used to play Oblivion quite a bit years ago and remember being horrified by the level scaling. For those of us coming from TES: Morrowind, it was very disappointing. In Morrowind you could never be sure what you were up against and it was easy to get killed. In Oblivion all enemies are scaled, so the challenge is the same most of the time (in general). First thing I did when getting Oblivion was to install a level scaling mod from the Oscurus Oblivion overhaul. This completely changed the game when it comes to difficulty. Harder? Yes. More rewarding and fun? Absolutely. 🙂

    • Hmm, maybe they did it to make it more mainstream, because the casual crowd have more money and don’t like hard games…but that’s my theory. I played it for about a week before realising that despite getting better with weapons and armor, I had a feeling that it was just going to be the same overtime, because even when I had my difficulty settings, none of the enemies got harder, even bigger foes had the same challenge as smaller enemies (so long as you had stronger weapons, which are very easy to get). But I still enjoyed what I played nonetheless.

Leave a Reply

