Cap-Vember – Exed Exes

There are some random games in Capcom’s library, but none like Exed Exes (or Savage Bees) from 1985, this is a shoot ‘em up game like every other, it has similarities to 1942, but it’s different, aside from high resolution graphics and nice use of parallax scrolling, but you can play with another person simultaneously.

The planet called NEG-NIN is being taken over by insect-type creatures called Exes, and it’s up to Colonel Issue and Sergeant Issue to drive back their forces and free the planet from imminent doom.

But Exed Exes feels different, when I played the game for the first time, I didn’t stop; I kept on playing it…why? Because of the music, it’s one of the weirdest, unusual pieces of music I ever heard; it was enchanting to my ears, hypnotised to the tingly synthesisers, I never experienced it, it felt out of place, but it eventually didn’t, the graphics are actually fantastic, I love the game design and the high resolution makes it even better. Now I have a piece from my college work I wrote and it describes the psychological effects of gaming, this extract is about sound:

“Sound, especially music is important in games, not only can they be favoured by people who might not like music, but it can add extra immersion to a game. Games years ago would have jingles but not proper music due to the limitations of the hardware. Nowadays, music is used in nearly all games, but the most important part of music in games is that it can have a psychological effect in the gamer, making the gamer feel different emotions depending on what game it is and will immerse the gamer even more and get engaged with the game, this wouldn’t work properly without music”.

If this game didn’t have music I wouldn’t have even bothered playing the game again or even review it, but the music and the look and design of it takes me into that weird and wonderful world whenever I get the chance to play it. You might not like the same thing, you might not think the same but that’s OK, Exed Exes proved to me once and for all that music can affect you psychologically and this is the only game to do so for me. Gameplay wise, it’s a run-of-the-mill shooter but it’s still fun.

You can get it for the Arcade, Nintendo Entertainment System/Famicom, PlayStation, Sega Saturn, PlayStation 2, Xbox and Virtual Console.

Rating: 3/5

Leave a Reply

