Halloween Review: I tried Ghosts ‘n Goblins

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/a/a1/GhostsnGoblins_flyer.jpg

I tried…I really, really tried…but it STILL kicked me down faster than the bullies at school. This is a game I could never beat, I hate it for being way too difficult…and yet I still love it. Why do I love this series? Am I a gluten for punishment? Who Knows!!! A series that has been deemed the most difficult arcade game series of all time and it’s known as Ghosts ‘n Goblins (魔界村 Makaimura, “Demon World Village”), developed and published by Capcom. And yes, I’m going to talk about all three classics: Ghosts ‘n Goblins, Ghouls ‘n Ghosts and Super Ghouls ‘n Ghosts.

https://i1.wp.com/www.consoleclassix.com/info_img/Ghosts_n_Goblins_NES_ScreenShot4.jpg

So you play as Sir Arthur as you battle your way through Hell and back…in a slightly literal sense, to save Princess Prin Prin and defeat Satan, King of the Demon World. My God I hate these stories!

https://i2.wp.com/www.arcade-museum.com/images/118/1181242110262.png

So we have another platformer here, you’re our famous gaming Knight in shining (but fragile) armour Sir Arthur as he battles zombies, ogres, demons, cyclops, dragons and other types of monsters. Your default weapon of choice is a javelin but you can collect other weapons which may or may not help you and probably makes the game more difficult.

http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/ghostsngoblins/images/b/ba/GhostsnGoblinsL1-A1-01.png/revision/latest?cb=20090404221537

Speaking of difficulty, THIS IS HARD! Some of you may say that they could finish it and I’m criticising it because I don’t know how to play games…and if that’s your reaction then you don’t like other people’s opinions do you. I mean, you may have no problem with the difficulty, but because of the controls not working as it could for me and the fact that two hits and you’re dead, it’s intense right from the beginning, for every time I begin a game, its panic-striken, when I start walking, I always ask myself if I will ever survive this level? The answer is 99.99% of the time, no! The graphics are dark, gloomy and overall gothic and I love it, the music is just the best, the Stage One theme is a legendary song, the controls feel weird and one portion of the reason why this game is so hard.

http://vignette2.wikia.nocookie.net/ghostsngoblins/images/b/bf/GBC-GnG-USA.jpg/revision/latest?cb=20150308213217

So far…play the Game Boy Color port because it’s a much easier port and I could actually get through a few stages and it plays better. But seriously, it’s a tough one and if I find these games difficult, what would I think of games like Dark Souls or Bloodborne?

You can get it on the Arcade, Amiga, Amstrad CPC, Atari ST, Commodore 16, Commodore 64, DOS, Game Boy Color, MSX, NES, Sega Saturn, PS1, PS2, PS3, Xbox, Xbox 360, SuperGrafx, Sega Master System, Sega Genesis, Virtual Console and ZX Spectrum.

Leave a Reply

