Top 20 Game Boy Advance Games I Want to Play

 

Next is my childhood console, the Game Boy Advance, the only handheld console at the time where I actually made the right decisions, the right games to get and I still have it after over a decade it’s part of my childhood I ain’t ever letting go.

So it was a 32-bit system…with limitations, it didn’t have good audio hardware, but it did have ports from the SNES and while they were limited they did well porting them. There were two types, the original, the candy bar one that had issues with the screen being too dark in light and stuff like the previous game boy’s, but the one I’m talking about is SP, the one I owned and this was just perfect, it had a perfect size for what it was and it had good control placement, it was perfect for my once small hands.

The cartridges were…too small, this is based on experience since I actually lost a few games and they were some of the best I ever got, sad but I do like the big squared carts of the Game Boy, since they were less easy to lose in a way.

Overall, it might be limited for a 32-bit handheld system but by god what it was able to do it did well. The good games were great, there were a lot of variety and whenever they need to use 3D graphics they do it well. They’re cheap as chips if you’re looking for one so you’ll have no problem finding one, though it will be cheaper than a GBA Pokémon game.

20. Kirby: Nightmare in Dream Land – This is a remake of Kirby’s Adventure, and this does justice to the original, a lick of paint and somehow better gameplay, I played this via emulator in my high school years and it’s fantastic, I look forward to a physical copy of the game.

19. Mario VS Donkey Kong – I don’t know since I did own it and played it before I lost the cart, but when I played it the game was fun, challenging and a unique puzzle game with a lot of variety to the levels, it’s been years since I play it and I look forward to play it one day.

18. Kurukuru Kururin – Judging by the title this was too Japanese to ever be so successful. It’s a simple but tough as nails puzzle game. I do have some memories playing it via emulator and finding it a challenge, this is an underrated game by many, you probably don’t know about the game since it was released in Japan and Europe only.

17. NES Classics Series – I’m trying to find a physical NES and out of all the consoles I’ve been wanting to find, this is still the most difficult to find a working console, even the Sega Saturn was easier to find. Anyway, these games include Castlevania, Donkey Kong, Dr. Mario, Excitebike, Ice Climber, The Legend of Zelda, Metroid, Pac-Man, Super Mario Bros., Xevious and Zelda II: The Adventure of Link. All these games I’ve played but they’ll certainly play better than on the 3DS.

16. Kirby & the Amazing Mirror – It’s one of those games where I played via emulator for ages but never remembered much about it. That’s worrying, time to go back and see what’s happened.

15. F-Zero: GP Legend – Can this game do justice to the series, with it’s cocaine fuelled gameplay? Maybe! Maybe!

14. Dragon Ball Z: The Legacy of Goku 1 & 2 – the new RPG Dragon Ball games haven’t fared well, then these games came to show us how to do it justice. And I love the show so there’s that too.

13. Castlevania: Aria of Sorrow – The NES games were tough and gothic,this and games like this in the series look ‘cool’, cool gameplay,cool game world, it’s a proper modern take on the original series,though it hasn’t finished I think (I don’t know much of the back story as of yet).

12. Banjo-Kazooie: Grunty’s Revenge – Well if we ain’t going to get Banjo-Threeie, this might as well be an alternative, wait? Why couldn’t this be the third game?

11. WarioLand 4 – This game was…my friend’s childhood, not much to say but I gave my reasons on my Game Boy Color list so there.

10. Pokémon: FireRed, LeafGreen, Ruby and/or Sapphire Version – Sadly I didn’t grow up with Pokémon, I was too busy with Super Mario Bros 3 and the Sonic Advance series…well it wasn’t all that bad was it? Was it?

9. Ninja Cop – Well there’s Ninja and Cop in the title, this unknown title praised by many who actually played it has intrigued me for years even before I went to consoles like the Wii and PlayStation 3.

8. Metroid Fusion – I haven’t played the 2D Metroid games that much…I’ve tried but mostly because the only game I got is Prime, but it’s Metroid and I’ll have fun with it.

7. Mario Kart Super Circuit – When I got my GBA I got Finding Nemo, and it sucked, when I got a second game I had two choices, this game or Sonic Advance 2. Judging by this list you’d know what I chose…well it wasn’t all that bad was it? Was it?

6. The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap – I will say A Link to the Past is one of my favourite SNES games of all time and I hope this game which is similar to that but with Wind Waker’s art style it should appeal to me well.

5. Metroid: Zero Mission – a remake of the NES classic, I hope it’s fair.

4. Golden Sun – In one of the game packaging I saw a leaflet showing the many GBA games available, Golden Sun was one of them, it intrigued me and I have no idea what the game is, but if I get it I’m going to try it.

3. Fire Emblem – Me before playing Awakening demo, “probably won’t interest me”, after playing it, “I WANT THIS GAME”, but I need to start somewhere right?

2. Mario & Luigi: Superstar Saga – This is considered to be not only the best entry in the Mario & Luigi RPG series, but also the best game for the hand held device, I played at back in high school via emulation and this is an experience I need to play to the end.

1. Mother 3 -………we all want it!

22 thoughts on “Top 20 Game Boy Advance Games I Want to Play

  1. Golden Sun is ABSOLUTELY amazing. If you want to add another RPG into your mix, give Final Fantasy Tactics Advance a try if you can find a copy, ’tis hours of fun.

    I do have some good news though – there IS an English fan translation of Mother 3, the bad news is that you have to download the ROM of the original and patch it. If you want to play it on the GBA instead of a emulator shell on your PC you can but you will need to purchase a flashcard (like aceKard) to run the ROM on your GBA. Totally worth it though, I prefer playing games on the actual console they were meant to be played on when they were made. 🙂

Leave a Reply

