Columns

Day 1

I arrived in the deserts of Egypt, as I kept walking the dry and hot desert I found a pyramid, I walked to it and went in, they placed booby traps but I managed to avoid them all. I found out that this was a town hall for a bygone city of Phoenica.

Day 2

Still in the pyramid, I kept searching for more information of this and I came across drawings, supposedly of a past civilisation, some were drinking wine, some danced and some played a game, a column like game, the egyptian words (as I’m able to translate it) speaks of the rules of the game, there are bars with three different gems or the same jewels or two same coloured jewels and a different coloured jewel, they are thrown into a board.

The objective of the game is to arrange three or more of the same colour either horizontally, vertically or diagonally and remove them from the board. If the board is piled up, the game is over and you’ll be mummified and your flesh eaten by flesh-eating beetles. Horrific stuff!

Day 3

I continue the search and discover a wooden box which resembles a Sega Mega Drive…strange…anyway, I turned it on and the board is activated, I start playing the game, to arrange the jewels, I pressed A, B or C, I was playing for half an hour, it’s addictive fun, but it was over as I screwed up.

Day 4

I played it again and discovered the options of different versions. I could play the original game, the way it was meant to be played, the aim is to make many jewels disappear as possible. Then there is Flash Columns, where you’ll be timed on how quickly you can make a flashing jewel disappear.

It was a dream, whoops, anyway, Columns, a very fun and addictive puzzle game, and that’s about it.

You can get it on the Arcade, TurboGrafx-16, Sega Master System, Sega Mega Drive, Sega Mega-CD, Sega Game Gear, Super Famicom, Game Boy Color, Virtual Console, NEC PC-9801, MSX 2, iOS and Cloud (OnLive).

Rating: 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

