Top 5 Sega Mega Drive Games I Want to Play

Now it’s time for the legendary Mega Drive (or Genesis if you live in the USA). I got mine for £9.99 at a charity shop (albeit the same place I got my Master System), I didn’t get a game at the time until a month later when I went to Milton Keynes and picked up The Revenge of Shinobi, Strider and Strider II (regrettably), not bad for first game collecting for a Sega Console.

Since then I have about 30-40 Mega Drive games, I have got a Sega Mega CD, so all I need is a working Sega 32X. This console dominated over Nintendo at the time and at one point sold better than the Super Nintendo, but it’s also thanks to Sonic for being responsible for the first Console Wars. The Sega Mega Drive had great games, even if its specs were lower than the SNES, it still managed to make some memorable games. It sold 30 million machines and was both popular in Europe and the US, but not so in Japan, the PC Engine was popular in that country, but that’s for another time.

The console’s design is pretty cool and very retro, and that’s how Sega marketed it as a grown up console. The original controller is a little too bulky, I can play with it fine but maybe it should have had more buttons, but that’s where the six-button controller for fighting games, I have only one at the moment and this is fantastic, it’s smaller but it’s the right size for me, if you have small hands, the six-button controller will be perfect for you. I also have a model 2 Mega Drive, this is a lot better, I love this model, it’s much smaller, more sleek and best for storage if you don’t have enough room.

The cartridges are nice looking, it’s smaller and has a picture of the game you’re going to play and shows the title on the top, if you store it on tour shelf you know what game to pick up. Overall, it’s a fantastic 16-bit machine, I’ve had great times with it and I’ll have greater times playing others when I collect more. Now to the top 10, I don’t mind if you skip to this list, I just like writing long things but somehow hate writing essays at college.

1. Gunstar Heroes – This is a game that makes me angry, not because it’s a bad game or a hard game but because it’s an expensive game, for a game that’s considered Common, it’s very expensive wherever I go, I went to the London Comic Com last year (which I plan to go again this year as of 2015) and someone sold it for £50 (WHAT?!?!?!). It’s considered to be one of the best games for the system and it looks fun, because anything from Treasure should be fantastic. Gunstar Heroes is a fast-paced run and gun game similar to Metal Slug, only this game is on crack, this is fast, this is frantic, it looks so much fun and hopefully I can find a good price. Though I could get Classics Collection for the Mega Drive which is cheaper than the original copy.

2. Dragon Ball Z: Buyū Retsuden – I got to have a Dragon Ball Z game here. I’m mostly talking about the French/Spanish version, doesn’t matter about the language issues, I’m going to be Goku battling Vegeta in the ultimate showdown. This was released in 1994, 2 years before America and the UK got it, so it was already popular in some European countries like France and Spain…uncut! I already have all 3 Super Butoden games for the Super Famicom and this is supposedly the improved version of the three.

3. Castlevania: The New Generation – Because it’s Castlevania, it’s going to be dark and gothic and it’s going to be hard and I want that, despite the European version removed blood and gore because we’re British wimps at the time, I still want or play it.

4. Earthworm Jim 1 & 2 – These are wacky looking games, from the looks of things it has fantastic platforming, and just laden full of imagination, I’ve wanted to properly play these games for years.

5. Super Fantasy Zone – I love Fantasy Zone so we got a new game for the Mega Drive, yep, this was released in Japan and Europe only. It’s a cute ’em up with bright and vibrant colours, so I find this appealing. But I wonder if the hidden meaning of the story is just as dark as the original.

Honorable Mentions:

  • X-Men 2: Clone Wars
  • Bubsy
  • ToeJam & Earl
  • Toy Story
  • Rambo III
  • QuackShot: Starring Donald Duck
  • Aladdin (Disney’s)
  • Rocket Knight Adventures
  • Ghostbusters
Leave a Reply

