Metal Slug Main Series

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/4/41/Metal_Slug_(cover).jpg

The Neo Geo, a console so expensive I went screw it and for the first time hacked my PSP so now it can play emulators and I never looked back, YouTube channel Game Sack recommended a lot of Neo Geo games. But then there is a series I always go back to play, the Metal Slug games (Metal Slug, Metal Slug 2, Metal Slug X, Metal Slug 3, Metal Slug 4, Metal Slug 5 and Metal Slug 6), developed and published by SNK Playmore and the first game was first released in 1996.
https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/5/52/Mslug103.png
The games focuses on the Peregrine Falcon Squad, a small group of soldiers who fight against a rebel army, aliens and various other forces intent on world domination. Sometimes you ally with evil forces to battle a greater evil. For these games you don’t really care about the story since the game doesn’t talk about it.
https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/62/Mslug203.png
The game is a run and gun game and oh boy is it fun, you just shoot soldiers with various weapons, including the pistol, machine gun, rocket launcher, grenade and even my favourite, the shotgun, it’s so satisfying instantly blasting away enemies with that weapon. As the title suggests, Metal Slug is a tank that you can drive in and shoot everything in sight.
https://i0.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/f/fa/Metal_Slug_3_gameplay.jpg
The design of the game is one of my favourites, the characters and items are cartoony but very detailed, the background and level design is so beautiful, literally everything is so detailed and I praise the developers for such wonderful art design. The music is one of my favourites, it has that action-orientated feel to it but in a cartoony way and I fits the series so well.

The game is about war, it’s a military shooter, but unlike Call of Duty and Battlefield, it’s cartoony, wacky and Japanese, these are the reasons I go back to play this over serious military shooters, it’s fun and appealing, it’s a game that I go play for a while, it’s bizarreness keeps me playing, there are a lot of hilarious moments from the series, it’s just light-hearted and funny and I want to see more shooters like that (It’s called Team Fortress 2).

The reason why I’m not reviewing these games individually is because they’re pretty much the same, but have a lot of variety in each game, you don’t always do the same thing but  it would be boring to review each game, otherwise they could get shorter and shorter, so I might as well talk about all of them, keep in mind I haven’t played Metal Slug 7, or XX (I think).

Overall, this is one of my favourite series, they’re the same but the levels and story are different in each game, these are war games I treasure for many years to come and I recommend these games, you can get them as part of Metal Slug Anthology.

You can get it on Neo Geo (1-5), Sega Saturn, PlayStation, Virtual Console, PlayStation Network, PlayStation 2, Xbox, Xbox Live Arcade, iOS, Android and PC via Steam.

Rating: 5/5

Leave a Reply

